PSC names new police commissioners for the Federal Capital Territory, Benue, Delta, Akwa Ibom, and six other states.


The Police Service Commission has approved the appointment and posting of Police Commissioners for ten State Commands of the federation.

This is coming on the heels of the promotion of 14 Deputy Commissioners of Police to the Substantive rank of Commissioners, reports Daily Sun.

PSC Head of Press and Public Relations Ikechukwu Ani, in a statement listed the newly appointed State Commissioners of Police to include Peter Ukachi Opara Osun State, Olughemiga Emmanuel Adesina posted to Benue State; Akinwale Kunle Adeniran, Ekiti state Command and Mohammed Umar Abba, Adamawa state Command.

CP Beneth Igwe, Federal Capital Territory Command, Abaniwonda Surajudeen Olufemi, Delta State Command; Ademola Waheed Ayilara, Akwa Ibom State Command; David Iloyanomon, Taraba State Command; Abayomi Oladipo Peter, Ondo State Command and Hassan Abdu Yabnet, Plateau State Command.

PSC Chairman, Dr Solomon Arase, retired Inspector General of Police, charged the new Command CPs to rebuild public trust through robust partnership with the public, just as he warned that the Commission will not accept any excuse for failure to give effective and efficient leadership.

Arase, assured that the Commission will continue to encourage them but warned that the security of lives and properties in their areas of jurisdiction should not be taken for granted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *