INEC releases names of Senators-elect for 10th National Assembly



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released list of Senators-elect, following the February 25 Presidential and National Assembly elections.


The list was posted on INEC’s verified Twitter handle on Monday night.


The Commission had announced in a statement at the weekend that it would present certificates of return to those whose names are on the list on Tuesday, March 7.


The winners were declared for 423 legislative seats, while supplementary elections would be conducted in 46 other constituencies, according to the electoral umpire.


The elected legislators include 98 out of 109 Senate, and 325 out of 360 House of Representatives seats. Seven parties won in the Senate, while eight parties won House of Representatives seats.


The list was published a few days after Nigerians elected their representatives at both chambers of the National Assembly, for another four years.

The election was keenly contested by candidates of various political parties, as some lawmakers and sitting State Governors were shocked by their co-contestants in the polls, with Labour Party (LP) pulling up one of the greatest upsets in the country’s history.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *